Welcome to Engage McKinney
The official participation platform of the City of McKinney
What is the purpose of Engage McKinney?
The Engage McKinney platform is designed as a central hub to share information and get feedback about City of McKinney projects. Projects and topics are posted here because we want your input! Each project may have a different mode of engagement, whether it’s adding an idea, commenting on a proposal, voting on and prioritizing projects, or taking a survey. To participate in input opportunities here, all you need to do is sign up.
How do I start using Engage McKinney?
Signing up is easy: simply click the "Log In" link at the top of this page, then fill in your name, email address and required demographic questions.
Need more information? Reach out to us at communications@mckinneytexas.org
What information can people see about me?
Your name, photo and bio, if you’ve added one, are visible. You can always change these in your Settings.
Why can’t I post my input or submit a comment?
Posting, commenting, and voting may be enabled only during certain times or phases of a project. In some instances, a project may only be open to contributions from a certain stakeholder group.
If posting is currently enabled for a project, you’ll see a button that prompts you to submit a post. Alternatively, you can browse other active projects for additional engagement opportunities.
How do I edit or delete my input?
If you’ve posted your input but want to make edits or delete it, you can find this option by clicking on the three small dots on the top right of the post.
What are the community guidelines and moderation policies?
Engage McKinney is hosted by a company called Go Vocal, which has its own set of community guidelines to help ensure that the platform is a safe space for everyone to participate. According to Go Vocal's guidelines, posts or comments that contain the following content may be edited or deleted, or in extreme instances, prevented from being posted.
- Personal attacks, insults, abusive or discriminatory comments
- Offensive language including profanity
- Marketing or advertising material
- Personal information about other individuals
- Copyrighted material such as images
Please review Go Vocal's Terms & Conditions for more information.
How do I report an offensive post?
Click the three small dots in the top-right corner of the post to report it. Please indicate the reason you are reporting the content - this will send us a notification to review the post.
Why am I having difficulty signing up or logging in?
If you’re unable to sign up, it may be because you’ve already registered with the same email address or previously received an invitation to join the platform. If you see a message that your email address is taken by a pending invite, please check your email and follow the link in the invitation to register your account. If you can’t find the invite, try looking in your spam box or request a new invitation.
How do I reset my password?
You can always request to reset your password from the login page. If you reset your password, a link will be sent to your email address - follow the instructions to change your password. For security reasons, the link is only valid for one hour. If the link has expired, you can simply click on "forgot password?" in the login page again to generate a new reset link.
If you didn’t receive the email, check to make sure that it’s not in your spam and that you’re sending the link to the same email address that you signed up with.
What will you do with my data?
Review Go Vocal's privacy policy for more information on data collection and usage. Your data will never be used for advertising, marketing or other types of spam.
What emails will I receive?
You may receive emails related to your account and your activity on this platform - for example, when someone responds to one of your posts. You can control which emails you receive in your settings. There is a section called “notifications” where you can turn email notifications on and off.
How do I delete my account?
The option to delete your account is located in your settings. If you delete your account, input that you’ve posted will remain published but your name will be removed from the post and replaced with "unknown author." If you’d like to delete all of your input, please do so before deleting your account.
